EACJ congratulates the Deputy Principal Judge Justice Isaac Lenaola upon his new appointment as judge of the Supreme Court Kenya


East African Court of Justice Arusha 31 October 2016: The East African Court of Justice warmly congratulates Hon. Justice Isaac Lenaola upon his new appointment as a judge to the Supreme Court of the Republic of Kenya. Justice Lenaola who has been Judge at the High Court of Kenya has been promoted to the Supreme Court of Kenya after a rigorous selection process. His Lordship has replaced the retired Justice Philip Tunoi former Vice President of the East African Court of Justice. Justice Lenaola until his appointment was the head of the Constitutional and Human Rights Division at the High Court of Kenya.

The Summit of the EAC Heads of State appointed His Lordship Justice Lenaola as a Judge of EACJ, First Instance Division in April 2011 and consequently designated him as Deputy Principal Judge of the same Division in November 2013 a position he still holds to date to replace the retired Hon. Lady Justice Mary Stella Arach Amoko from the Republic of Uganda with effect from 1st December 2013.

The President of the Court Hon. Justice Dr. Emmanuel Ugirashebuja on behalf of the Court, congratulates him upon his new appointment and wishes him good cooperation in implementing the role of the Supreme Court in Kenya.

He further added that his new elevation from the High Court to the Supreme Court Judge of Kenya demonstrates his hard work in the judiciary of Kenya and entrusting him with greater assignment.

His Excellency, President Uhuru Kenyatta of the Republic of Kenya swore in Justice Isaac Lenaola as well as Justice Philomena Mwilu as Deputy Chief Justice of Kenya on 28th October 2016.

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or ‘the Court’), is one of the organs of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. Established in November 2001, the Court’s major responsibility is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court until the Summit determines its permanent seat. The Court’s sub-registries are located in the respective National Courts in the Partner States.

For more information please contact:
Yufnalis Okubo, Registrar, East African Court of Justice. Tel: 255-27-2162149
Email Okubo@eachq.org
East African Court of Justice
Arusha, Tanzania

Comments are closed.